SAAE President Trueman Goba receives Honorary Doctorate

Trueman Goba, industry leader, mentor of young engineers and champion of the transformation of the engineering profession in South Africa, received the degree...

Decolonizing Engineering

Prof Mike Muller  presented this lecture  on Tuesday 10 April at Nelson Mandela University, North Campus, Summerstrand - Faculty of Engineering, New...

Challenges facing the South African Mining Industry

Prof Cyril O’Connor

Decolonising Engineering

Prof Mike Muller

Transitioning to a Lower Carbon Economy

Technological and Engineering Considerations for the Building and Transportation Sectors .
Prof Philip LLoyd

SA Academy of Engineering

The South African Academy of Engineering (SAAE) is a young, growing, non-profit, independent institution with 199 members. It functions as a voluntary association under its own constitution and follows the model of Academies of Engineering in many countries around the world.

The Academy comprises eminent engineers of all disciplines and related professionals with proven ability and achievement. It is able to harness their wealth of knowledge and experience which, with the interdisciplinary character of the membership, provides a unique resource for independent, evidence-based advice. The SAAE maintains relations with overseas Academies of Engineering and in 2009 was admitted as a member of the International Council of Academies of Engineering and Technological Sciences (CAETS).


To be a reliable and sought-after source of expert advice on matters pertaining to global competitiveness and quality of life for the nation.

Recent news

Hendrik van der Bijl Memorial Lecture 2017

The 2017 Hendrik van der Bijl Memorial Lecture was presented in the Senate Hall of
Read more on this

SAAE Fellows honoured

Five SAAE Fellows were among the persons who were honoured by SAICE at the prestigious
Read more on this

SAAE Representatives at CAETS Convocation Madrid 2017

SAAE’s representatives at the CAETS Convocation Felix Reinders, Trueman Goba, Bob Pullen and Mike Shand
Read more on this

Lesotho Highlands Water Project

Fellow Bob Pullen, a member of the Lesotho Highlands Development Authority’s Project Management
Read more on this


Office (+27) 12 333 7891
Cell (+27) 72 594 1441