2016 Academy Lecture 

The Gauteng presentation of Prof Cyril O’Connor’s 2016 Academy Lecture “Challenges facing the South African mining industry” will take place  at 17h00 on 23 March 2017 in  the Senate Room in Solomon Mahlangu House (previously known as Senate House)   at the University of the Witwatersrand.  This is an open lecture and everybody is welcome. Please RSVP to before 15 March 2017.

A summary of the lecture can be read here


Double Honours for SAAE President Trueman Goba

On 18 November 2016 McMaster University in  Hamilton, Canada honoured Trueman Goba with a D.Sc (h.c) degree and the following week the University of Johannesburg honoured him by bestowing  the highly regarded Ellen Kuzwayo Council Award  on him for his transforming engineering leadership and mentoring, impacting critical national infrastructure in South Africa.



SAAE President Trueman Goba was appointed to the CAETS Board of Directors for the period 2016 to 2018. He will attend the next meeting of the CAETS Board of Directors in Madrid in September 2017.


Hendrik van der Bijl Memorial Lecture 2016

The Hendrik van der Bijl Memorial Lecture 2016 was delivered by Mr Koos Bekker, Non-executive Chairman of Naspers, on 8 September 2016 in the Senate Hall of the University of Pretoria. The title of his presentation, “Ten mistakes I made” aroused much interest and the lecture was very well attended.

Mr Koos Bekker, Prof Cheryl de La Rey, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Pretoria, Mr Trueman Goba, President of SAAE and Prof Sunil Maharaj, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering

SAAE Fellow Thomas Garner introducing the reprint of the 1948 biography of Dr H J van der Bij

A reprint of the 1948 biography of Dr H J van der Bijl entitled “South African Heritage” by Alice Jacobs, was launched before the lecture. The reprint was facilitated by SAAE Fellow Thomas Garner, CEO of Cennergi and Sipho Nkosi, retired CEO of Exxaro. Copies of the biography were handed to Prof Cheryl de la Rey, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria by Mxolisi Mgojo, CEO of Exxaro. It was an historic evening as it was the first time that the lecture was attended by relatives of Hendrik van der Bijl.


Western Cape Dinner

President Trueman Goba and Honorary Fellow Philip Lloyd

This year the STIAS Conference Centre in Stellenbosch was the venue for the very successful Annual Dinner on 6 October 2016. Honorary Fellowship was bestowed on Fellow Prof Philip Lloyd after President Trueman Goba had read a citation. Prof Wikus van Niekerk delivered a presentation on renewable energy generation in South Africa. The dinner was attended by 37 Fellows and their spouses and was sponsored by the University of Stellenbosch, Aurecon and Pragma Holdings (Pty) Ltd.


Gauteng Induction Dinner 

The annual Gauteng Induction dinner was held at the Pretoria Country Club on 12 October 2016. While enjoying cocktails on the beautiful lawn of the Club, the sixty guests were entertained by two pipers.   It was a highly successful dinner and Fellow Jack van der Merwe’s presentation on the future of Gautrain was received very well. Honorary Fellowship of the Academy was bestowed on Past Presidents Dr Bingle Kruger and Mr Bob Pullen and new Fellows Thomas Garner, Stanford Mkhacane, Colin Matlala, Ian McKechnie, Pat Naidoo and Pine Pienaar were inducted. The dinner was sponsored by Pat Naidoo Consulting Engineers, the University of the Witwatersrand, Africa Public Transport Association (UATP) and Nyeleti Consulting.