The Gauteng Induction dinner was held at the Pretoria Country Club on 5 October 2017 and the Western Cape Induction Dinner took place on 18 October 2017 at Kelvin Grove Club in Cape Town. At the dinner in Cape Town Honorary Membership was bestowed on Fellow Prof Fred Hugo.
Nine new Fellows were inducted this year namely:
Prof Dave Deglon, Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Cape Town
Prof Ian Jandrell, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment, University of the Witwatersrand
Anita Loots, Head, Office of Africa Planning, SKA
Dr Titus Mathe, Project Engineering General Manager (Acting), Eskom
Prof Rob McCutcheon, Consultant and Emeritus Professor, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of the Witwatersrand
Prof Johan Meyer, Associate Professor, University of Johannesburg
Prof Wessel Pienaar, Research Fellow, Department of Industrial Engineering, Stellenbosch University
Prof Jan Harm Pretorius, Head of School: Postgraduate School of Engineering Management and Professor: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment, University of Johannesburg
Prof Wynand Steyn, Professor and Head of Department, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Pretoria