Dr Mike Shand, Honorary Fellow, Mr Leon Nel, Dr Trueman Goba, President of SAAE, and the three new Fellows Me Marna de Lange, Prof Neil Armitage and Dr Rob Adam

Four new Fellows were inducted at SAAE’s Western Cape Induction Dinner on 10 October 2018 at STIAS in Stellenbosch. Dr Trueman Goba, the President of SAAE, inducted Me Marna de Lange, Prof Neil Armitage and Dr Rob Adam as Fellows of the Academy. Prof Pilate Moyo, who was also elected as a Fellow in 2018, could unfortunately not attend the ceremony. Mr Leon Nel, Production Engineer at Reutech Radar Systems, was the guest speaker. The dinner was sponsored by Aurecon, MLS Test Systems and Reutech Radar Systems.

At the occasion the accolade of Honorary Fellowship of the Academy was bestowed on Fellow Dr Mike Shand. This accolade was considered appropriate recognition of Dr Shand’s achievements in engineering projects, particularly in the fields of water resource planning, design and management and dam design and construction, for which he is widely respected throughout South Africa and in many States in sub-Sahara Africa, and his significant contributions to the SA Academy of Engineering and to the engineering profession in South Africa over many years.