Prof Kevin Wall and Sam Amod, two Fellows of SAAE, were awarded SAICE’s gold medal in October 2017
Five SAAE Fellows were among the persons who were honoured by SAICE at the prestigious 115th Presidential Inauguration held on 16 November at La Toscana in Monte Casino, Fourways. These awards were made in recognition of outstanding individual contributions to the industry and the profession.
SAAE President Mr Trueman Goba, Fellow Dr Allyson Lawless and Fellow Dr Ron Watermeyer were awarded Honorary Fellowship of SAICE. Honorary Fellowship of SAICE is awarded to persons of distinction whom SAICE wishes to honour because of their services and eminence to the Institution and the profession.
Fellows Prof Kevin and Sam Amod were conferred SAICE’s prestigious Gold Medals. The Gold Medal is the highest honour that can be bestowed by the Institution on a Corporate Member. It gives recognition to a person who:
• As a leader in the profession of civil engineering over a number of years has made an outstanding contribution to civil engineering in South Africa.
• Has contributed substantially to the status of the engineering profession by exemplary professional conduct and the establishment of a high reputation for professional service.
• Has, as a member, rendered meritorious service to the Institution over a number of years.